DeFeo Endowment Award

The Anthony B. DeFeo Endowment Award for Clinical Studies in Speech-Language Pathology was established by friends and family of Dr. DeFeo. Anthony B. DeFeo, Clinic Director from 1981-2008, developed an extraordinary career that exemplified the translation of science into service. Dr. DeFeo’s clinical and research activities centered on identification, evaluation and treatment of pediatric communication disorders especially those related to syndromic and other atypical clinical presentations. He was also involved in developing several evidence-based treatment programs for all ages in the department’s several clinics.

Applicants to the Master of Science Program in Speech-Language Pathology who are accepted into graduate training at The University of Arizona and will be taking classes at UA in the upcoming year are eligible for this award. Recipients of this award are notified in the fall by the Scholarship Committee.

Scholarship Award Recipients

  • 2013-2014: Samantha Deitering
  • 2012-2013: Marissa Kryger, Matthew Ricca
  • 2011-2012: Christine Dawson

If you would like to make a donation to this fund, you may mail a check to:

Attn: Dana Eriksson, DeFeo Endowment Award
Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
The University of Arizona
P.O. Box 210071
Tucson, AZ 85721-0071

Please direct any questions to:
Dana Eriksson
(520) 621-1819