• Medical Speech-Language Pathology Bootcamp

    Kathleen Cazzato, M.A., CCC-SLP
    Monday, March 27, 2017
    Kathleen Cazzato, M.A., CCC-SLP will be leading our Medical Speech-Language Pathology Bootcamp and joining our clinical faculty in May 2017. Ms. Cazzato has over 20 years experience working with adults in medical settings across the continuum of care including, trauma centers, various acute care units, inpatient rehabilitation, and a community re-entry program for traumatic brain injury. She received her B.S. and M.A. in Speech-Language Pathology from Northwestern University.
  • Bilingual Certificate Program

    Dr. Leah Fabiano-Smith and Rui Motoyoshi, M.A., CCC-SLP
    Friday, March 24, 2017
    Dr. Leah Fabiano-Smith, Director of the Bilingual Certificate Program, is joined by Rui Motoyoshi, M.A., CCC-SLP, as the Bilingual Certificate Program Coordinator. The Bilingual Certificate Program provides academic education and clinical experience for graduate students in speech-language pathology and audiology. Ms. Motoyoshi is a bilingual speech-language pathologist who has worked with children of all ages with developmental disabilities in southern Arizona, as well as children with communication needs in Guatemala, Mexico, and Honduras.
  • Jeannette Hoit Named a 2017 Galileo Circle Fellow

    Joaquin Ruiz and Jeannette Hoit
    Wednesday, November 2, 2016
    Jeannette D. Hoit, PhD, CCC-SLP, was named a 2017 Galileo Circle Fellow by the University's College of Science Dean’s Board of Advisors. This award, established and supported by the members of the College of Science Galileo Circle, recognizes the outstanding accomplishment in academic scholarship and is one of the highest honors the College of Science can bestow on its faculty. Dr. Hoit was honored for her "deep understanding over a broad range of science, a willingness to think in a truly interdisciplinary way, and an ability to inspire colleagues and students alike.” SLHS is extremely proud... Read More
  • AuD Student Receives William F. Austin Scholarship

    Diane Cheek
    Monday, October 31, 2016
    Diane Cheek, a 3rd-year SLHS audiology doctoral student, was named a 2016 recipient of the William F. Austin scholarship from Starkey Hearing Technologies. This $10,000 award recognizes "outstanding audiology graduate students pursuing clinical, teaching and research careers." Diane currently works in the Arizona Human Electrophysiology & Auditory Development (AHEAD) Lab, directed by Dr. Barbara Cone. Diane's research is focusing on cortical auditory evoked potentials in adults and using these electrophysiologic responses to assess vowel discrimination in the mature auditory cortex. Next y... Read More
  • SLHS' Brad H. Story Winner of the Rossing Prize

    Brad Story, PhD
    Wednesday, September 21, 2016
    Brad H. Story, PhD, is this year's recipient of the prestigious Rossing Prize in Acoustics Education, presented by the Acoustical Society. As a member of the SLHS faculty, Dr. Story has provided exceptional training to countless MS, AuD, and PhD students here at the UA. The Rossing Prize in Acoustics Education was established in 2003 from a generous gift made to the Acoustical Society Foundation by Thomas D. Rossing to recognize an individual who has made significant contributions toward furthering acoustics education through distinguished teaching, creation of educational materials, textbook... Read More